The College of New Jersey Logo

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

The Merton D. & Sylvia Levey Scholarship

The Merton D. & Sylvia Levey Scholarship is awarded annually to an incoming full-time,
first-year TCNJ student who is accepted to or currently enrolled in a major course of study in
engineering for the betterment of the utility industry, which includes electric, solar, water,
and any other utility or energy-related industry that serves the public.

The scholarship award is up to $4,000 (as specified by the TCNJ Foundation) and is
automatically renewed for up to three years as long as the recipient maintains a 3.0 GPA. The
winner of the scholarship will be selected based on financial need*, academic performance, and
other characteristics including: a dedication to community service, character, sincerity,
leadership, integrity, trustworthiness, a positive attitude, and goal oriented. A minimum high
school GPA of 3.0 is required. To be considered for the award, students must be accepted to or
enrolled in an engineering major.

Applicants interested in applying for The Merton D. and Sylvia Levey Scholarship, must submit
a letter of interest that includes the applicant’s overall educational and career goals, examples of
dedication to community service and leadership in the engineering profession, how the
applicant’s skills can be applied to the utility industry, and any special circumstances causing
financial need*.

This scholarship has already been awarded for the 2022 – 2023 academic year.


Armstrong Hall, Room 165
The College of New Jersey
P.O. Box 7718
2000 Pennington Rd.
Ewing, NJ 08628